what is GMUM.r?


GMUM.r is a R package with new classification and clustering models. This is being done in a close collaboration between GMUM group members and students.

We have recently participated in Theoretical Foundations of Machine Learning conference. We have given a presentation concerning our project. Learn more about our speech.

what makes GMUM.r unique?


clustering and classification

of your data using both known and novel machine learning methods

efficient clustering

using online methods and easily scalable algorithms

tunable classification

letting you choose from a selection of underlying implementation/optimization methods

project modules


CEC

Cross-entropy clustering (shortly CEC) joins advantages of classical k-means with those of EM. Moreover, contrary to k-means and EM, CEC finds the optimal number of clusters by automatically removing redundant ones.

easy implementation

speed

ability to adapt to clusters of desired shapes

ability to find the optimal number of clusters

SVM

Known and widely used Support Vector Machine engines with unique Two Ellipsoids preprocessing.

different SVM libraries

unique features

unique data preprocessing

GNG

Fast C++ implementation of clustering algorithm Growing Neural Gas.

online clustering

focused on big datasets

high performace

integration with igraph

contribute


Feel free to start contributing! We welcome you to cooperate - either in giving us feedback and in sending some pull requests. For more information about tasks, bugs and how to work with us, please check below links.

See how our repository evolved.

team


Our team. Mouse over a member to see contact details.

dr hab. Igor Podolak

GNG Supervisor

igor.podolak@uj.edu.pl

mgr Wojciech Czarnecki

Project Coordinator, SVM/CEC Supervisor

wojciech.czarnecki@uj.edu.pl

lejlot

Stanisław Jastrzębski

Project Maintainer, GNG Developer

staszek.jastrzebski@gmail.com

kudkudak

Igor Sieradzki

SVM Team Leader

sieradzki.igor@gmail.com

igorsieradzki

Marcin Data

CEC Team Leader

marcin.data@ii.uj.edu.pl

marcinMarcin

Konrad Talik

SVM Developer

konrad.talik@uj.edu.pl

ktalik

Piotr Kowenzowski

SVM Developer

piotr.kowenzowski@uj.edu.pl

sacherus

Karol Jurek

CEC Developer

k.jurek@uj.edu.pl

kjurek

Mateusz Bruno-Kamiński

Web Developer

m.bruno.kaminski@gmail.com

www.linkedin.com/in/brunokam

FORMER MEMBER

dr Przemysław Spurek

CEC Supervisor

przemyslaw.spurek@uj.edu.pl

ww2.ii.uj.edu.pl/~spurek/

FORMER MEMBER

Szymon Nakoneczny

SVM Developer

szymon.nakoneczny@gmail.com

snakoneczny

FORMER MEMBER

mgr Maciej Zgliczyński

CEC Developer

zglicz@gmail.com

IIUJ-MaciejZgliczynski

FORMER MEMBER

mgr Michał Pletty

CEC Developer

michal.pletty@gmail.com

crazySocket

FORMER MEMBER

Marcin Hatalski

GNG Developer

m.hatalski@student.uj.edu.pl

Nominalista

theory


Theory behind the implemented algorithms derives from the work of GMUM researchers. Some of the theoretical basis can be obtained by reading related publications.

Jagiellonian University in Krakow

GMUM.r is being developed at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science of Jagiellonian University. This project is supervised by researchers from the GMUM group, Group of Machine Learning Research. The group focus on various machine learning models and algorithms, with particular interest in hybrid models, connecting concepts from both classification and clustering methods. For students, this project is an unique occasion to make a first step into true science.